Our Lady and Sheen

On hoping falsely

“Because I spoke to Naboth the Jezreelite and said to him, ‘Sell me your vineyard, or, if you prefer, I will give you a vineyard in exchange.’ But he refused to let me have his vineyard.” 1Kings 21:6

And so King Ahab informs his wife that things are not going according to his hopes and dreams.  He has set his sights on Naboth’s vineyard, next to his palace, in order to make himself happy, and he does it on fairly generous terms.  I would be willing to make the king happy if the status quo remained the same, or if I managed to gain something in the bargain.  Naboth however will not give up his ancestral heritage, which could be a whole different thesis altogether.  So the king mopes, and refuses to eat and throws a general temper tantrum.  I might mope as well if I were Ahab, because I do mope now when things don’t go “my way,” and for far less than a vegetable garden.

What is the danger in these mopings?  Well here’s one:

“A fine ruler over Israel you are indeed!” his wife Jezebel said to him. “Get up. Eat and be cheerful. I will obtain the vineyard of Naboth the Jezreelite for you.” So she wrote letters in Ahab’s name and, having sealed them with his seal, sent them to the elders and to the nobles who lived in the same city with Naboth. This is what she wrote in the letters: “Proclaim a fast and set Naboth at the head of the people. Next, get two scoundrels to face him and accuse him of having cursed God and king. Then take him out and stone him to death.” 1 Kings 21:7-10

And of course, that is what happens, and the blood of an innocent man is spilled.

I guess I will keep my wants in check.

June 14, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

