Our Lady and Sheen

St. Jean Marie Vianney

I had a friend ask me why it was so exciting to me that the Curé d’Ars was declared the patron saint of all priests, as opposed to only parish priests, when I am not a priest.  I think that beyond the initial excitement of the Pope making a formal declaration of this magnitude (it affects currently 450,000 priests directly, with untold numbers in the future), that it involves some of my deepest yearnings.

In my heart I feel that this kingdom to which we, as baptised Christians, belong is something beyond only the world around us.  I see in the imagery of my soul the might of servitude, the power of reliance on the One, and  the beauty of the cross.  So when these priests are given so holy a patron to stand along side Our Mother before the Savior of the World, and to plead unceasingly for these humble men in the vineyard, it makes my heart swell that all of the priests now have an example of the power of Love in its true form.  A Love for the responsibilities that have to be very difficult almost every day in the face of the world, the devil, and the flesh.

So continue to ask always for intercessions for your priest and all priests.

Curé d’Ars, ora pro nobis!

Ora pro Pontifice

June 15, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

1 Comment »

  1. Indeed. St. John Vianney is a model of faithfulness to his vocation.

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | June 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

