Our Lady and Sheen

Lourdes arrival

As I start to write this, I’m waiting for the daily 9pm procession to start. Lourdes truly is like Catholic Disney World! I’m standing across from the grotto with people from Downpatrick, Ireland who have adopted the lonely American. They are from a nursing home, and have 116 with them!

This must be the candle capital of the world! They have huge self serve, self patroled bins with candles of every size. My current candle is for the procession, (which would be better if it weren’t sunny at 9pm) is small and is now protected by a wind guard that has the credo, and a prayer of some sort around the side in 6 languages. The rosary we will say is in multiple languages, but the Creed is in Latin, the language of the Church.

It is now two hours later, 1115, and it was a wonderfully long procession and rosary. I’ve washed my face a few times in the water, and haven’t run into as many English speakers as I had hoped. I am feeling quite homesick or tired, I cannot tell! Tomorrow there are two English Masses, I will go to one of them. I know that I should be more spiritually reflective, but except for my time with my new French friend yesterday, it’s been hard to get along.

Enough complaining! After the rosary we greeted all those around us with peace, I saught out the Pakistani group because they were indicated in the English intro. It’s amazing that tonight I have shook hands with French, Italian, Mexican, Spanish, Irish, Pakistani, German and probably many more!

June 21, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. It sounds so awesome! What an experience of a lifetime! I am so happy that you are getting to do this! I hope you are taking pictures!

    Comment by Katie | June 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. Wow Lourdes sounds amazing! Glad you got to participate in the procession and touch the water. Many blessings!

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | June 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

