Our Lady and Sheen

Martin and me

My day in Tours started off with a nice escapade to pay for parking where my car was, but then got much better. I had explored Tours for two hours the day before, so I had a good footing on where I was.

First I went to the poste central, or something similar, and it was French beurocracy at it’s best. There was a line of three people in front of me and it took 20 minutes, with three people working. But I managed to send my cartes postal!

Next I walked to the Basilica of St. Martin. It was beautiful and “new,” from the early 1900’s I think. In the crypte I prayed with Martin, and then noticed the first stone on the right side of the alcove surrounding the Crypte was dedicated by the Knights of Columbus. I actually didn’t notice it, there was a French tour going on and I heard “Knights of Columbus” and literally let out a yelp, not my proudest moment.

I had a nice conversation with the lady upstairs, and if you ever see a medal or image of St. Martin represented by a boat or boats, it represents when the men of Tours took the body back up river from where he died. There was literally a fight between the men of Tours and Poitiers over his body, the men from Poitiers miraculously fell asleep, the men from Tours opened the window, took the saint, and went straight for the river. At least that’s what I understood from the my bad French and remembering the biography as the shop keeper drew pictures in the air!

June 21, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Well Brother Martin, was it amazing to literally be with St. Martin of Tours?

    Comment by Brother Bernard | June 22, 2010 | Reply

    • St. Martin was amazing, and literally everyone in Europe has some association with St. Martin. One of the groups at the procession (which I will post MUCH more about in Day 2 part 2 as soon as I have wireless) was “St. Martino” of something, but, it was amazing!

      Comment by fsz101 | June 24, 2010 | Reply

  2. Wow what a story about St. Martin and the city of Tours!

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | June 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

