Our Lady and Sheen

Lourdes Day 2

9:41am: I am currently waiting for the English speaking confessions to begin. I just attended Mass with the Bishop of Limerick in the Grotto with his pilgrims.

11:44am: a miracle of sorts has occured. I prayed last night that I could just have a hug, I was feeling so detached. Before confession I met a woman from Rochester, NY, and struck up a conversation. I gave her a card to pray for Archbishop Sheen, that I touched to the Tomb of Therese of Lisieux. She was very touched and told me about how much St. Therese meant to her. I went to confession, said my penance and as I was leaving she hugged me and blessed my journey. I feel much stronger now and ready to continue.

After that, I went to the high stations of the cross. It was a winding road up this mountain, with more elevation than all of Louisiana. It took about 45 minutes to walk.

Then I visited the Crypte (housing an untouchable relic of St. Bernadette) with Mass going on after a long tunnel. I had already been in the Basilica of the Rosary, under the Crypte, and then I went up to the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception (just like our big church back home, only much bigger and over the Grotto).

6:33pm: I have just come back from the Eucharistic procession. It was from this tent on the other side of the river to the Basilica of St Pius X. The basilica is underground, and pure concrete, it doesn’t even look as good as most arenas, but whereas arenas have basketball, the Basilica had Jesus!

I have discovered that a local favorite food is confit de canard, or roast duck leg. I’m going to try it for dinner, then go back to the grotto while everyone is still away.

Also I had a second experience with the post office here, it was aweful. They said all my credit cards were invalid. It scared me terribly until I remembered I had used one five minutes earlier, so I blame their machines!

7:46: Confit de canard is good. Just like chicken, only the meat literally fell off the bones. Also, I think I just ate beats for the first time. It’s hard to tell but they were diced and purpleish red. Off to the Grotto.

June 22, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

6 Comments »

  1. Wow! You know how I love our St. Therese! What an awesome experience! I’ve always dreamed if going to see her! Have a great time and be careful! I’m so glad that you got a hug, too!

    Comment by Katie | June 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. You always can count on someone from Rochester, NY! We’re everywhere!

    Praying for you,

    Brother Bernard

    Comment by Brother Bernard | June 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. Sounds like you’re having quite an awesome holy adventure! Question: Who was the Bishop of Limerick at the grotto? Because Limerick, Ireland is currently without a bishop

    Comment by Pete | June 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Pete, sorry, you’re correct, the most former Bishop of Limerick. Along with many other pilgrims from there. I guess that’s why one of the intentions was for a new bishop!

      Comment by fsz101 | June 24, 2010 | Reply

  4. Thank you so much Stephen for letting us join you on this wonderful pilgrimage through Lordes. I so wish I could be there with you! Hugs and Blessings to you!!

    Comment by Kathy | June 23, 2010 | Reply

  5. Glad to hear that you’ve had such a God-filled experience at Lourdes, complete with St. Therese and a much-needed hug. God bless you, and I’ll keep praying for you. Here’s an extra hug. Bon voyage!

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | June 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

