Our Lady and Sheen

Assisi and back (may contain graphic references)

I got back to the convent about an hour ago, at 920pm, I left at 630am, so quite the long day! On the train to Assisi, I met a couple from Sadona, AZ, and talked to them the two hours up to the Umbrian Plane. He is an interfaith minister and she’s studying to be a nurse, and they randomly decided at 6 am to make the journey to Assisi.

Let me say that Assisi is amazing, but that will have to wait for when I’m not exhausted!

Surprise of all surprises, I ran into the American family that I met in Lourdes, and they allowed me to be adopted. We went to the English Mass in the Chapel of Peace, one of the oldest parts of the Franciscan convent (for men), and a Maronite Bishop from Syria sat in choir (since it wasn’t his Rite). It was amazing, he sung a song in Aremaic while we received the Lord!

After that, the American Family and I hiked, hiked, hiked, hiked up the hill, and had lunch. The father treated me to lunch of ravioli with butter which was amazing. I even tried mushrooms, regular and in truffle spread form! Even if had been awful, he and his family are now counted amongst my benefactors, and I will remember them in my prayers, along with the rest of those who have been kind to me.

After the trek back down, seeing St. Claire, and many other saints, I had the opportunity to exchange medals with a Cappucian Franciscan, I gave him one of my St. Martin medalions and he gave me a Miraculous Medal, and I think it was from the place where Our Lady revealed the medal, I need to do more research!

I got back to the train station suffering from heat exhaustion, I ended up missing out on some of my calories next to a tree in the train station. That was after an hour of feeling like I was going to die. The homeless man looked at me with great pity! Then I was able to pass in and out of consciousness on the train and feel pretty ok now. I am however going to go to sleep so I can wake up and get to St. Peter’s in time to “Mass shop” when the priests pour in at 7am!

Ciao!

San Francesco, pray for us!
Santa Chiara, pray for us!
Our Lady, concieved without sin, pray for us who have recourse to thee!
Archbishop Sheen, pray for us!

June 27, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Awww don’t forget to hydrate! Feel better!

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | June 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

