Our Lady and Sheen

Roma day 2

It’s 3:30 and I’m sitting on the ground outside of the enterance to the Basilica di San Paolo fuori le Mura, St. Paul’s outside the wall! Today I hit all four of the Major Basilicas (once I go into this one), and in just under an hour the Pope will arive, and in two and a half hours the first vespers service will begin.

I began today at the Altar of St. Joseph, at 7am, with a Mass by the Bishop of Oakland, then immidiately afterwards, a lone American priest was looking for a congregation, so I served mass for him. At 8am, I went to the post office and the bookstore. At 9am I entered the Bronze Door to the Apostolic Palace and got my tickets. I just noticed that the envelope is marked “Cavalieri di Colombo,” in Italian things sound so cool!

(The Spanish speaking folks around me are now praying a Rosary and singing.)

A quick list of my adventure:
St. Peter’s, St. Mary Major, St. John in Lateran, now St. Paul’s. Also, St. Peter in Chains, the church of St. Alfonso di Ligoria (home of the Icon of Our Lady of Perpetual Help), the Basilica of San Martino al Monti (St. Martin of Tours, with a huge underground escavation the priest let me explore). I’ve also seen the Colloseum, the Circus Maximus, and the pyramid, although I haven’t looked up exactly what that’s about. I saw the church of the Holy Stairs, but it just opened so I did not get to walk them.

I met a group from Bellingham, Washington and got to tell some Conzaga students about Archbishop Sheen, that was pretty cool, too.

It’s 33 degrees C today, or 91F, yesterdays heat is still being felt, but there are less hills to walk and more subways!

St. Paul, pray for us!

June 28, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Wow! Your trip is really showing me how much I missed when I went to Roma. God is really blessing you. Have a great time!

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | June 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

