Our Lady and Sheen

To be fair

I made a post on the charitable nature of Americans earlier this week, but I feel that I was unfair in a certain regard. While in Rome, I came back and the restaurant I was going to eat at, the only one I knew in the city near me, was closed. When I got back to the convent, dinner was going on and I asked how much it was. It was 18Euro.

I had about 5 Euro left for the rest of my Roman trip, so I asked if I could just have a small piece of cheese. The sister said yes, and she’d get it for me. Miraculously, as I was sitting speaking to the English speaking desk worker, a hot ham and cheese sandwhich appeared in front of me. It was amazingly delicious, especially after having run around all day in the Roman heat.

Additionally, the non-English speaking sister who was serving the tables, kept insisting that I have vino, until I finally allowed her to pour me a small glass. I realise they are religious, and charity comes as an almost natural charism on top of that, but the hospitality of these sisters was greatfuly accepted.

July 2, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

1 Comment »

  1. yay for the Sisters’ hospitality! Praise God!

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | July 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

