Our Lady and Sheen

Mass at St. Peter’s for the Feast of St. Peter and Paul

I just realised I did not actually write about my experience at the Mass in St. Peter’s with the Pope for the Feast of St. Peter and Paul.

Let me begin: It was incredible.

It was nearly 3 hours long, but did not feel that way, once again showing that the liturgy can take you to a place of extra-worldly experience.  I managed to get there on time, and after waiting in line for about 35 minutes made it to the Basilica with about an hour to spare.  I was ushered to my section which was up the aisle that the Pope would process, and then over to the right transept of the church.  I found my way through seating, and then realised that I could only really see the altar, so I moved to the far left of the seating so I could still see the altar and the Pope.

There was wild cheering every once in a while before the mass as one of the new archbishop’s pilgrims would see him in the Basilica, and the overall atmosphere was amazing.  It was pretty dark in the basilica until about half an hour before the Mass began.  Then the first sets of lights came on.  Five minutes later even more lights came on, and it seemed like a normal church setting.  Then about ten minutes later even MORE lights came on, and it was like it was daylight in the main area of the basilica.  Light was also streaming in from the windows in the basilica offering rays of lights onto different spots, and was beautiful!

Mass proceeded as normal, and the Pope installed the Pallia on 3 American Archbishops (Archbishops Schnurr [Cincinnati], Listecki [Milwaukee], and of course Wenski [Miami]) after they had taken vows of loyalty to the See of Peter.  It was all quite beautiful.

The most touching part of the Mass was when a young boy who was trying to be told where to kneel with his family crawled up onto the throne with His Holiness.  Pope Benedict looked so grandfatherly at that moment.  He seemed to speak to the boy for a while and then patted his head, and the boy climbed down and joined his family.  (I’ve seen one picture of it from the Feast, so if anyone can direct me to where I can find it again, I’d be greatful!)

After that, receiving communion was crazy, but worth it.  Then at the very end of Mass the choir and the assembly sang “Oremus Pro Pontifice” “Let us pray for our Pope,” in Latin.  It was so beautiful to pray for the Pope, in front of the Pope!

Update: if you go to http://www.photovat.com/29-06-2010%20PALLI%20WEB/29062010_COMUNIONI/index.html and then go to picture 182, which is on page 16 of the index.  It’s very beautiful!

July 6, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Awww you have to find that picture of the little boy and link to it. Sounds sooo adorable. What an amazing experience to be at Mass celebrated by the Papa! 🙂

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | July 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] I just realised I did not actually write about my experience at the Mass in St. Peter's with the Pope for the Feast of St. Peter and Paul. Let me begin: It was incredible. It was nearly 3 hours long, but did not feel that way, once again showing that the liturgy can take you to a place of extra-worldly experience.  I managed to get there on time, and after waiting in line for about 35 minutes made it to the Basilica with about an hour to spare.  … Read More […]

    Pingback by Mass at St. Peter’s for the Feast of St. Peter and Paul (via Our Lady and Sheen) « Letters from Christine | July 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. Oh I see the pictures – there are like 20 of the little boy it’s so cute.

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | July 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

