Our Lady and Sheen

Another Roman connection

On Monday the 28th, while in Rome, I followed a group from the North American College to St. Peter’s, while speaking with one of the seminarians from that diocese about Rome.  When we got to St. Peter’s I assisted at Mass prayed by The Most Reverend Salvatore J. Cordileone, Bishop of Oakland, CA.  It was very cool to go to Mass in St. Peter’s for the first time with a bishop.  The next day, at the reception for the new American Archbishops, I ran into the seminarian again, and he was dressed in his cassock, instead of the clerical shirt with coat like the other seminarians.  He told me it was because he was accompanying his Bishop to Florence for the ordination of Deacons and Subdeacons for the Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest.

Browsing around the internet today, I found the pictures of said ordinations, and you can see them here! It’s quite beautiful, as any ordination is! (Just click “1” at the top to go to page one of the pictures)

Just a side note, with humility and egg on my face, when I first heard he was the bishop in California, I just assumed that he would not in any way celebrate Mass in the extraordinary form.  But not only did he celebrate, he ordained men in the EF.  This is a great example of a bishop, who should be the chief liturgist in his diocese!  I offer a sincere apology to all those I have assumed things about, correctly, or incorrectly.

July 8, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. cool

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | July 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. I believe it was Archbishop Burke, not Bishop Cordileone, who ordained the new ICKSP priests in Florence in July 1. But still, I think it’s cool that any bishop from California was there! I got to talk with an ICKSP priest stationed in Oakland, and he said they get on well with Bishop Cordileone.

    Comment by Rachel | July 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey, you are probably right in that Archbishop Burke ordained the ICKSP priests, however the ordinations of the Deacons and/or Sub-deacons was carried out by Bishop Cordileone. This was based off of the picture album that I linked. Thank you for reading my blog, and I really hope I’m not wrong in my reading of Italian/Latin on the ICKSP website!

      Comment by Francis | July 10, 2010 | Reply

    • By the way, I love your blog, I finally scrolled past all the delicious recipes and then found the beautiful post on the Nashville Dominicans. They used to come to my town a long time ago for their education degrees, prayerfully they will return one day!

      Comment by Francis | July 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. Oh, I didn’t notice you were talking about different ordinations. That’s really neat that Bishop Cordileone is ordaining for the ICKSP. Also, thanks for your last comment; I’m glad I found this blog too. 🙂

    Comment by Rachel | July 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

