Our Lady and Sheen

Movie Review Monday

While I was in Europe, it seemed like a lot of movies came out, and so I had a lot of catching up to do.  And so, in case you care what I have to say about movies, here they are.

Toy Story 3 – (Rated) G / (USCCB) A-I (General Patronage)

I must say, that I believe that I missed Toy Story 2.  I have absolutely no recollection of the movie, the advertisements, or anything.  I do not remember any of my friends talking about the movie, and I tend to remember movies pretty well!  Toy Story 3 on the other hand, I do remember, and I must say that I really enjoyed the movie.  It gave a full range of emotions, which were pretty authentic, especially when compared to most animated films.  There were a few scenes of “intense” action, which maybe a really young child could be afraid of.  I think that the part of the movie that I liked the best was the idea of loyalty, mostly espoused by Woody, that you just do not get in most movies made for adults.  The other part of the movie that I enjoyed, that you don’t often see, is the idea that actions have consequences.  Even though I usually hope to see the theme of “redemption” played out in kids movies, there is occasionally room for the “bad guy” to get what’s coming to him.  Overall, I’d give this movie a 4/5 rating.

Grown Ups – PG-13 / A-III (Adults)

I love Adam Sandler movies, and you add in the amount of Saturday Night Live characters that this movie had, and you’re bound to get one funny movie.  This movie was great in that it really emphasised family.  While there are themes of divorce and unusual relationships, and a few mentions of intimacy outside of marriage, generally the family unit is held up in high esteem.  The only down side of this film is that with all that comic talent available, the movie still gets jokes in the easy toilet humor way.  Granted, there were a lot of genuinely funny moments, but the cheap stuff was there too. I’d concur with the A-III rating, and give this movie a 3.5/5 rating.

Knight and Day – PG-13 / A-III

This movie did not pretend to be something it wasn’t.  Instead, it took the ridiculousness that it was and played it to the full extent possible.  I enjoyed that it was a movie in which I did not have to avert my eyes from overly romantic scenes, and I think that is why it was not rated “R.”  There are a few instances of pretty intense violence and language, but for an adult, this shouldn’t be a problem.  Do not go into this movie expecting a straight action movie, because I think (and I hope) the writers meant it to be an extremely comical action film.  I would stick with a 3.5/5 rating.

Despicable Me – PG / A-I

By far, the best movie I’ve seen this month!  I don’t know why.  Usually I don’t enjoy movies where the “bad guy” is the “good guy,” but this movie was amazing in the way it evolved the character.  The lovable, evil villain Gru really demonstrates the power of love, and its role in redemption, in an animated way.  This movie was extremely funny, and at first I did not know why they needed Steve Carell to put on a fake accent, but as the movie went on, the choice became more and more clear!  There are a few scenes of dysfunctional family life, but I think that you can easily see why they are needed, as the plot continues.  Overall, I would recommend this movie to anyone, and I give it a 5/5 rating!  Also, you know it’s good when grown men are walking around saying, “It’s so fluffy, I’m gonna die!”

July 12, 2010 - Posted by | Movie Review Monday | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Ohh I really want to see “Despicable Me”

    Ditto on the “Knight and Day” and “Toy Story 3” – both good movies.

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | July 12, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

