Our Lady and Sheen

Sacramental Saturday

The sacraments are important, and the ordinary way to salvation.  I have decided to dedicate a small portion of my blog directly to them.  The next few posts about the sacraments will be to help with a smoother transition to the new translation of the ordinary form of the Mass.  You can find out much more about the new translation for the Mass at: http://usccb.org/romanmissal/

In today’s segment, we’ll be looking at the Confiteor, you know, the prayer that you pray near the beginning of Mass that acknowledges that you are a sinner and asks for forgiveness.  Yup! Turns out that has a name, and the name is Confiteor!  (It comes from the first word in the Latin “Confiteor Deo”)

Ok, currently we say (parts that are changing have been bolded by the USCCB):

I confess to almighty God,
and to you, my brothers and sisters,
that I have sinned
through my own fault,

in my thoughts and in my words,
in what I have done,
and in what I have failed to do; and I ask blessed Mary, ever virgin,
all the angels and saints,
and you, my brothers and sisters,
to pray for me to the Lord, our God.

But now, there have been just a few minor changes, and we will say:

I confess to almighty God
and to you, my brothers and sisters,
that I have greatly sinned
in my thoughts and in my words,
in what I have done
and in what I have failed to do,
through my fault, through my fault,
through my most grievous fault;
therefore
I ask blessed Mary ever-Virgin,
all the Angels and Saints,
and you, my brothers and sisters,
to pray for me to the Lord our God.

So, this post is mostly just my opinion on things, I don’t have a liturgical degree, nor am I ordained, so take it or leave it, but the important part is to know the translation is coming.

Ok, the “therefore” may be just a better grammar choice than “and,” but the other parts of the prayer change the emphasis slightly.  First, by saying “greatly sinned,” we hopefully realize, that we have truly hurt God.  This comes from 1 Chronicles 21:8.  Also, the other change is instead of just saying that I have sinned “through my fault,” taking ownership, we slow down, and we reiterate that the sins we’ve committed are OUR sins, and not someone elses.

In the text here also is “and, striking their breast, they say:” as we say “through my fault, through my fault, through my most grievous fault.”  We build up, in a way, the understanding we have of our sins.  It’s almost like when you’re in love, and you’re like “I love her, I love her… oh my gosh! I realllly love her! This is insane how much I love her!”  Instead, we say to God that we are sorry for our sins, and that we really love Him, in a building way.  Also, this is very much like the threefold redemption of St. Peter, who, as we do in all our sins, denied knowing Christ.

Just some meditations on the upcoming changes.  Again, do not begin using the new translation until it’s time to use the new translation!

July 17, 2010 - Posted by | Sacramental Saturday | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Good preview of a bit of the new translation of the Mass.

    btw, I thought last time you talked about sacramentals on Saturday… maybe I remembered wrong.

    Comment by Christine Pennacchio | July 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

