Our Lady and Sheen

Sundays with Sheen, on Mary, our beautiful mother.

I pulled out my copy of “The World’s First Love: Mary Mother of God,” with the intention of copying down the words that Archbishop Sheen wrote that were so remarkably brilliant, insightful, philisophical, theological and humanist all in one.  (And that was just from the first chapter.)  I realised that sometimes you must stop, and look at the things that might be over looked.

It brought a tear to my eye as I saw the part of the book that I skip over 9 times out of 10 for the first time, as Mary would have been skipped over by a society in her humble existance.  What more could be said about a humble introduction to the humble, Blessed Virgin, our Mother.  So without further adieu, I would present the dedication page that the Servant of God dedicated.

Dedicated to the Woman I Love

The Woman whom even God dreamed of

     Before the world was made;

The Woman of whom I was born

     At cost of pain and labor at a Cross;

The Woman who, though no priest,

     Could yet on Calvary’s Hill breathe,

“This is my Body; This is my Blood” –

     For none save her gave Him human life.

The Woman who guides my pen,

     Which falters so with words

In telling of the Word.

The Woman who, in a world of Reds,

    Shows forth the blue of hope.

Accept these dried grapes of thoughts

     From this poor author, who has no wine;

And with Cana’s magic and thy Son’s Power

     Work a miracle and save a soul —

Forgetting not my own.

August 15, 2010 - Posted by | Sundays with Sheen

3 Comments »

  1. What a beautiful poem? This is by Archbishop Sheen?

    Comment by Christine | August 15, 2010 | Reply

    • It wasn’t attributed to anyone else, so I think it was indeed an Original!

      Comment by Francis | August 15, 2010 | Reply

      • That’s great!

        Comment by Christine | August 16, 2010


Leave a Reply

