Our Lady and Sheen

Happy Feast of St. Francis De Sales… again!

This morning I had the opportunity to serve at a low Mass in the extraordinary form.  In the “Old” Calendar today, as opposed to last Monday, is the feast of St. Francis De Sales, the great saint of the poor.

Early this week I had seen, “Do not wish to be anything but what you are, and try to be that perfectly,” which was inspiring to me.   I struggle, like we all should, to attain a life of heroic virtue and saintly attitudes, and fail one less time than I will hopefully succeed.  But always as the great saint also reminds us, “Do not lose courage in considering your own imperfections.”

These quotes seemed very inspiring in that this week I have been having a lot of confession related issues, especially embarrassment from repeat visitors to the ‘box.’ (I know, I know, “What, do you want whole new sins?”)  Then today I saw my friend Christine pointing me over to NCRegister’s posting on a new Apple app that has received an imprimatur here… which led me to the Mea Culpa app…. which brought us to the moral of the story:

“Confession heals, confession justifies, confession grants pardon of sin. All hope consists in confession. In confession there is a chance for mercy. Believe it firmly. Do not doubt, do not hesitate, never despair of the mercy of God. Hope and have confidence in confession.” –St. Isidore of Seville

In the words of Fr. Corapi, I hope that I am “not preaching to the choir, but rather, confirming the brethren!”

January 29, 2011 - Posted by | Feast, Sacramental Saturday | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

