Our Lady and Sheen

A confession

I have a confession.

I enjoy contemporary Christian music.

(For the most part, and usually not during the Mass.)

There is one song though that I particularly love and it is not by a Catholic artist, but might be one of the most true songs I’ve ever heard.

Matt Redman’s “Blessed be your name” is far from being just a feel good song, although it certainly makes me feel good most of the time.  When it’s sung at praise and worship sessions or played on the radio I feel my soul lifted as I sing, “Blessed be your name in the land that is plentiful, where your streams of abundance flow,” because sometimes I forget to when life is good!  It’s silly moments like that when I realize how sometimes I take God’s love for granted, and I really smile.

The next verse really gets me smiling though, and it makes me feel as if the song was written as a prayer like the St. Michael prayer, because it praises the Lord, “When I’m found in the desert place, though I walk through the wilderness,” and I find myself realizing that the Lord, God almighty, gives us everything for our own benefit.  He is not a God that requires us to capitulate our free will and accept that he will force upon us any amount of suffering that he chooses.  Rather, the Lord blesses us with trials and tribulations so as to refine us as gold.  This beautiful purest gold of our soul is worth any trivial pain in this life.

In fact, a few verses later we find ourselves praising God “on the road marked with suffering, though there’s pain in the offering.”  I would say that the Lord’s name is blessed by us even more because he allows us to have pain in the offering.  As I was sitting in Mass today I realized that most of the people there enjoy a pretty cushy life by the world’s standards (and I most definitely do).  I found myself wondering how many would be in the church today if we were a violently persecuted Church once again.  I know that it would be a hard decision for me, though I pray that God would give me the grace to suffer for Truth.

I digress.   This song reminds us to “offer it up.”

“Blessed are they who suffer persecution for the sake of justice, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

January 31, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I love that song too, Steve-O. I had forgotten about your blog, I’ll have to be a more regular reader.

    Comment by Brian Seiler | January 31, 2011 | Reply

  2. Sometimes Christian music gets a bad name, but there are some really good lyrics out there as well. Please come check mine out too at chanceman4. My name is Chris Chance and there is a link on my blog to listen to my CD, “Following You” featuring “You” and “His Prints Are in the Sand”. We are trying to get this project up and moving, so anything you can do and any way you could pass it on would be greatly appreciated. Also you can go to http://www.noisetrade.com/chrischance. Hope you enjoy it!
    Thanks and God Bless!
    Chris

    Comment by chanceman4 | March 11, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

