Our Lady and Sheen

The Rite – Movie Review Monday

“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour.” – 1 Peter 5:8

The first time I ever knew that I did not know anything was the time, after hearing him speak of demonic possession, I told a new priest that, “It’d be cool to see an exorcism!”  His face turned ashen, he looked at me, and assured me that I should pray never to see one.  From that moment on, I had really only ever been with a priest when he blessed a room in which a friend had been experiencing super-natural things.

I have never seen a horror movie in a theater, nor had I seen a “suspenseful” movie, but following confession on Friday I felt as though I must see this movie.  The priest informed me that he believed that this movie would bring many to the faith, and so I decided to see it with one of my movie going friends last night.

The movie was not horribly scary, though there were a couple of scenes that made me jump almost out of my seat.  The story however was very deep and pointed out the flaws that the adversary can use against us… especially our unbelief.

It’s hard to speak about this movie in more depth, other than to say that I would recommend it.  It is not The Godfather, but perhaps the deeper search for God the Father, along with the Son and the Holy Spirit, will have more of an impact than just the academy awards can give.  For a more in depth review, please check out NCRegister’s review of the movie here.

Saint Michael the Archangel, defend us in battle, be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil. May God rebuke him, we humbly pray, and do thou oh prince of the heavenly host, through the power of God, cast into hell satan, and all evil spirits who prowl about the world seeking the ruin of souls.

January 31, 2011 - Posted by | Movie Review Monday | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

