Our Lady and Sheen

Confirmation

Tonight we celebrated the Sacrament of Confirmation in our parish with the Bishop. This was the first time that we’ve also had a baptism during the same liturgy, so we sang the litany of the saints.

Last summer, as I was preparing for my pilgrimage I read a book about St. Martin of Tours and discovered he was the first non-martyr included in the Roman Calendar. He also was included in the litany of saints that we sang. The more I discover my Catholic faith, I learn that St. Martin of Tours was possibly the most awesome choice I could have made for a patron at my Confirmation. In addition I hear my given names in the litany which is always very nice!

This year, in addition to instructing the high school students in the faith, I was able to sponsor one of them. We had many deep discussions about choosing a name, the meaning of confirmation, and what it meant to stand up and be Catholic in a world in which we are hated for the message of love we preach. This young man impressed me, because once he decided on Jerome, we had a last class in which I admonished the students to pray for the gifts of the Spirit and the courage to live them out. When we were working on re-finishing a dresser (wood working seemed appropriate right after the Feast of St. Joseph the Worker) he volunteered that he was really hitting spiritual bootcamp with St. Jerome. I don’t know if I’ve been more proud of a student in a long while.

Its days like these that make all the work feel worth it!

May 7, 2011 - Posted by | Sacramental Saturday | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

