Our Lady and Sheen

Ten Dates Every Catholic Should Know: The Divine Surprises and Chastisements That Shaped the Church and Changed the World

I recently read Ten Dates Every Catholic Should Know: The Divine Surprises and Chastisements That Shaped the Church and Changed the World, by Diane Moczar.

This was a wonderfully easy read, for a history book, that brought to my attention a great many of the flaws in the arguments that my history teachers (usually the G.A.’s) made in my history classes.  It was nice to read a book that was not overburdened with footnotes, and even though I am a historian by training, sometimes I want to just read about history like I did in my youth, before APA citations took over my life.

This book does a great job of combining historical interpretations with theological interpretations of historical events.  I believe that this faith filled review of history helps us to see events in a more well-rounded light.  The book does an especially great job of covering the philosophy of our understanding of events.

This book is one that every Catholic should read to re-inspire our faith in God working in the world.  Academics always say the revisionist histories, like “A People’s History,” should be read, but I think this is a book that would cleanse the pallet of any student of history.  Home schools should incorporate this book into their history lessons.

Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, have mercy on us.

April 15, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

