Our Lady and Sheen

Movie Review: Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

I went to see Seeking a Friend for the End of the World thinking that it would be a dark comedy on the “last days.”  I think I was right, but I can’t really tell.  The movie was indeed dark, with brief shimmers of hopeful light.  I think it was fairly honest with how it displayed different people reacting to the end of the world; and I think that it appeals to the modern view that is becoming more and more prevalent that this world is all we have.

First, you have to go into this knowing that it is a very adult movie.  There were lines in it that had me very uncomfortable, especially sitting between my parents.  The beginning was very much like this, and then it begins to shift into the heart of the matter.  I think the TV edit of this movie would be absolutely funny!

Second, there are very deep emotional issues that are dealt with in this movie.  The issues of forgiveness, longing for family, and longing for someone to share our life with are not new, or abnormal.  As a hopeless romantic, I was compelled by the characters desire to find “the one,” but some of the ways in which they went about this were sketchy, at the least.  Without the desire for love, forgiveness, and family being deeper, some of it feels hollow.

Thirdly, this movie is very thought provoking.  As I was watching the people play out their emotions, I could not help but think of what I would do if this were to occur.  I want to say that I would spend my time in front of the Blessed Sacrament, but in all honesty, I’d also be hoping that there was someone to hold my hand as the time came.  Of course, some of this is distracting because we know that life could cease at any moment.  It is romantic to think of the entire human race facing this peril as one, but the chances are for each of us individually that it wont happen.  (Although, I know that if a 70-mile wide asteroid were coming at us, someone would still have time to come back and comment on my pitiful, out of the way blog, that I was wrong.)  We have to keep in mind that this moment can be our last, we could easily be hit by a truck (hopefully right after confession) and meet our Creator.

I don’t know if I’d recommend this movie.  I would have to see Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter first to let you know if that is a movie that I’d see.  I definitely would not recommend this movie for children, or older people.  Or younger people with older people.  The movie is rated R (Restricted) which is a good rating.  The USCCB Website lists it as L (Limited Adult Audience) which I think is reasonable, although they’ve had other movies listed as O (Morally Offensive) that had less morally offensive things in it.  There is a lot of extra-marital stuff, premarital stuff, drug use, murder, language, and crude humor (but most of it is not graphic).   Okay, now I’m rambling.

June 25, 2012 - Posted by | Movie Review Monday

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

