Our Lady and Sheen

Our Lady of the Ozarks Shrine

I was in the car going down US 71 from Fayetteville, AR to Fort Smith when I had to turn around. In the middle of no where, with a beautiful view of the valley to my left, I had seen a sign: “Our Lady of the Ozarks Shrine.” I thought.. “what?!” But there it was, in the middle of the Bible Belt on a road forgotten because of I-540: Our Lady of the Ozarks Shrine. It was Catholic, with some parishioners standing outside, and even a younger family or two inside. Absolutely incredible. Searching for this devotion to Our Lady I could only find a school, another parish, and the Shrine: but no other information! How weird in the world of the Internet!

Anyone care to help me out? The statue in front of the church says: “Our Lady of the Ozarks. Virgin of the smile.” (Or maybe Our Lady of Ozark)

Our Lady of the Ozarks, pray for us!
Venerable Archbishop Sheen, in love with the Blessed Virgin, pray for us.

20121118-225807.jpg

20121118-225756.jpg

20121118-225737.jpg

November 19, 2012 - Posted by | Random Stuff | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. After my father died, my Mother went to work for the priest at Our Lady of the Ozarks. The priest was Father Joseph Acosta. He was absolutely wonderful! My two older sisters went to boarding school in Fort Smith, Arkansas, and my younger brother and I took the bus each day to Fayetteville, Arkansas, to St. Joseph’s School. Had to ride the Greyhound both ways to get to school when we were 7 and 8 years old. We stayed in the old nuns home that was on the south side of the church but we had all our meals with Fr. Costa in the rectory to the north of the church. Seemed so BIG when I was little but in reality it was a very small place – and I loved it!

    Comment by Harriet Ciacco | November 22, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

