Our Lady and Sheen

Breaking…err… WAKING up is hard to do? (Part 1)

Over at The New Theological Movement, a blog that I am very ashamed that I did not know about, they have an excellent article on mortification for Lent. It blew my mind!

Among other items, there was a listing of quotes from St. Josemaria Escriva. I am not the best follower of this beloved saint, but everytime I read something of his I am strengthened… or convicted.

Two quotes that TNLM had from The Way were on waking up, and I think that they’re a reminder to us:

“Conquer yourself each day from the very first moment, getting up on the dot, at a set time, without granting a single minute to laziness. If, with the help of God, you conquer yourself in that moment, you’ll have accomplished a great deal for the rest of the day. It’s so discouraging to find yourself beaten in the first skirmish!” (191)

and:

“The heroic minute. It’s time to get up, on the dot! Without hesitation, a supernatural thought and … up! The heroic minute; here you have a mortification that strengthens your will and does not weaken your body.” (206)

I remember when I was a teenager how easy I could wake up in the morning. Unlike most of my peers, I just shot out of bed and got ready for the day. That being said, as much as I’d like to say that I was somehow more holy for the effort, I don’t think I was any different than most of my friends. It was just easier. I scheduled all my college days my freshman year starting with 8am classes, because to me, that would be sleeping in an hour compared to high school. I ended up missing a lot of classes… thank God for the gifts he has given me to do well in school despite my best efforts.

Now, as a “grown up” it’s very hard to remind myself to get out of bed. Usually when I wake up a moment or two before the alarm, I am angry with myself. Perhaps, St. Josemaria would give me a “credit” in that if I wake up earlier than the “dot” then I can go back to bed and not be lazy? I wish…! Getting up is hard to do sometimes, but it is something that every day we must push for. I look forward to my day at work, usually. I look forward to Mass, usually. I look forward to seeing people, usually. So why then is it a desire to go to sleep and “waste” the day? Maybe my ramblings will discover something.

When I was in high school and as long as I could remember before then, I had my sleep interrupted each morning by my mother. In high school I’d get up sometimes early, but only when I had a friend who wanted to talk…. oh! I’ll get back to that thought in a moment. So, there I was, slumbering soundly, partially departed from the world, and the motherly voice would call to me that breakfast was ready, and I would be up! I have never really thought what that meant to me until now, except in passing. Each morning, well almost, as a child I woke up to a loving mother (no matter what her mood was) having made an act of love for our family in cooking breakfast before we were even up. I don’t know if I could do that now, but maybe. But the topic of my love for people is something apparently I will now have to deal with internally!

How easy it was to wake up when my mother called to me. I have just realized another way in which my life is truly blessed.

I will write more later, sorry for the teaser, I didn’t realize this would get this deep.

February 15, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

