Our Lady and Sheen

Breaking…err… WAKING up is hard to do! (Part 2)

Just a reminder of the quotes of St. Josemaria Escriva from The New Liturgical Movement I’m working from:

“Conquer yourself each day from the very first moment, getting up on the dot, at a set time, without granting a single minute to laziness. If, with the help of God, you conquer yourself in that moment, you’ll have accomplished a great deal for the rest of the day. It’s so discouraging to find yourself beaten in the first skirmish!” (191)

and

“The heroic minute. It’s time to get up, on the dot! Without hesitation, a supernatural thought and … up! The heroic minute; here you have a mortification that strengthens your will and does not weaken your body.” (206)

I spoke about how easy it was to wake up when my mother called me. There have been a few other instances where it was easy to wake up.

In high school, I had a girl whom I cared about very deeply, nothing any more than friendship, but still a deep love. I know I said my mother usually called me to wake me up, but for a period of time I’d wake up even earlier than normal so that I could spend my morning talking to my friend, to help her wake up to get to her school. I remember this with my fondest memories. She was not a morning person, and she had a lot of problems sometimes, so she wasn’t always in the best mood. But, speaking with her, I’d usually be able to make her laugh and get ready for the day. In return, the joy I’d feel in having such a great friend made my day amazing. It was a great situation, although from the secular point of view people would think that I was “being used” or “doing more” for our friendship.

In college, I relayed how I missed a lot of 8 am classes, some of which I liked. But, when I had a friend who wanted to meet me for breakfast at 7am, I never let them down (well, almost never). I’d wake up way earlier than I needed to, eat breakfast way earlier than I needed to, be at class. A win/win situation. Friendship, fun, and improved success. Just by conquering my desire not to get out of bed, I did better for myself and others!

I have friends who sleep ALL THE TIME, but when there is something that they are doing they shoot out of bed and I’ve never seen anyone ready so quickly. It’s like a rocket ship. I have the opposite problem with events… usually I can’t sleep before anyway. It is interesting to see how different people respond to different stimuli.

How funny is this?
1. St. Escriva believes that the moment of waking up is an act of mortification.
2. The times its been easiest to wake up, have been times when I was waking up for someone else, either because of their love for me or mine for them.
3. Waking up “on the dot” is mortification, and we (usually) happily mortify ourselves for someone/something we want.
4. So… maybe Love should be the reason we mortify ourselves? We give up something we want for someone else, or for something else, or… perhaps for another, higher, reason?

St. Josemaria Escriva, pray for us.
Venerable Fulton Sheen, pray for us.
Our Lady, pray for us.

February 15, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

