Our Lady and Sheen

To be lead wither I wouldst not…

“Amen, amen I say to thee, when thou wast younger, thou didst gird thyself, and didst walk where thou wouldst. But when thou shalt be old, thou shalt stretch forth thy hands, and another shall gird thee, and lead thee whither thou wouldst not.” – John 21:18

Our Lord was speaking prophetically to St. Peter about the way in which he would suffer and die. These words struck me while I was walking along the lake with the sun shining, and the wind blowing, praying a rosary. (Lest you think I am too Holy, I definitely had to look up the verse, and I though I was clever for thinking this involved St. Peter’s death… forgetting that the next verse says clearly that it is about St. Peter’s death.) I was struck with how much I was enjoying the day, and then my mind wandered to the times of persecution and really emphasised the joy I was feeling with the gifts that God gives us.

I worry sometimes about suffering. And then, being in Florida, I notice all the… wise… people that come down here for vacation or to live. And I think that for most people the world will not have them arrested, tried, and crucified, but their bodies will begin to become frail, and we will be dressed by others and lead around by others. I write this as a reminder to those preparing for the world to reject them, as it rejected our Lord, that we must also be prepared for the longer “suffering” of age.

Strengthen yourself in Virtue and in the reception of Grace so that you may be able to take both of these “leading thee wither you wouldst not goes” in stride and Love for God.

Our Lady, Mother of Sorrows, pray for us.

February 19, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

