Our Lady and Sheen

5th Annual Chant Conference at Ave Maria University

I attended the 5th Annual Gregorian Chant Conference last weekend from Musica Sacra Florida held at Ave Maria University, in Naples. It was incredible. It was the first time that I had ever worked with professionals (other than my professional friend Tommy) to learn to sing.

We also had a great lesson in the Church from Rev. Msgr. Andrew Wadsworth, Executive Director of ICEL. His keynote address was great.

DSCF0690
Even his socks were right… or maybe they weren’t and he likes that color.
DSCF0691

The Solemn High Mass turned into a “Diaconal Mass” because a priest who was to serve as the deacon was sick. I would rate this Mass as one of the 5 most aesthetically beautiful Masses I have ever attended.

Tha Ave Maria University’s music Department provided some of the most beautiful chant that I have ever heard live. I was astonished.

These pictures probably got out of order, but I figured I’d publish them anyway! My poor, poor camera.
DSCF0697

DSCF0696

DSCF0695

DSCF0694

DSCF0693

DSCF0692

I sat right behind a mother/daughter or grandmother/grandaughter who were great. You cannot see in this photo, but the older woman is pointing along in the hand missal to the younger girl where they are, and kept leaning over to explain significant moments of the Mass.
DSCF0698

Also, I just realized that because of the angle I was at, the sanctuary looks flat. It is actually a very round dome, and the apostles look as though they are surrounding the altar in a circle. I’m sorry my camera does not do the Oratory justice.

February 20, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

