Our Lady and Sheen

I am worried about our generation, but when hope shines, it shines blindingly bright.

Yesterday, after Mass I ran into an acquaintance outside of the coffee shop. She is a graduate student at Ave Maria University, and instead of having a brief conversation with her, as I had planned, it turned into a four hour dialogue on the state of things in our world. Ranging from sin to courtship, and almost any topic you could imagine. We were joined periodically by our mutual friend, and undergraduate student who has spent many years in the Air Force, and it became incredible. After our long, long discussion, we all decided to grab dinner, and when I sat down to order, I realized I was absolutely exhausted! I don’t think I have had such a strong intellectual conversation with people in a long time… but more importantly, my friends grasped the deeper spiritual aspects of all of our subjects.

This conversation was not simply a superficial overview, but an in depth spiritual struggle over what we as humans actually go through. Its one thing, for instance, to say that this type of sin or that type is “bad,” but what do we as Christians have as a responsibility of forgiveness. If in the Sermon on the Mount, Jesus takes the commandment beyond just the physical, are we to hold people who commit a sin of the mind to the same standard as those who commit a sin with the rest of their body? How do we account for the temporal effects of sin while still allowing for the growth of a person?

Then I was promised the ability to read the thesis this young woman wrote on modesty, incorporating Theology of the Body, and the woman’s perspective. I’m thoroughly looking forward to expanding my understanding on these subjects from outside my own, and fellow men’s, mind!

Dinner was joined with new people, and those turned out to have incredible work in the missions, with their friends, or with their family. All dedicated to God out of love. Absolutely the most incredible student body that I’ve dealt with on the whole.

Our Lady, Seat of Wisdom, pray for us!

February 25, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

